• Home
  • Blog
  • News
  • Delegation of EU foreign ministers end visit to the South Caucasus

Delegation of EU foreign ministers end visit to the South Caucasus

Photo: European Union

  • Strengthening Institutions & good governance
  • Governance, rule of law and human rights
  • Security, cross-border cooperation & border management

On 26 June, foreign ministers from Austria, Lithuania, and Romania summarised their visit to Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, which took place on 25-26 June as mandated by the EU High Representative, Josep Borrell.

Alexander Schallenberg, Minister for European and International Affairs of Austria, Gabrielius Landsbergis, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Lithuania, and Bogdan Aurescu, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Romania, visited parts of the Administrative Boundary Line (ABL) with South Ossetian with the EU Monitoring Mission in Georgia (EUMM), and met Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili in Tbilisi.

Garibashvili said the mission was a strong signal that the EU was promoting peace and security in the countries of the South Caucasus region. The Foreign Ministers of Austria, Lithuania and Romania thanked the Georgian Prime Minister for the successful mediation between Armenia and Azerbaijan, which resulted in the release of 15 Armenian citizens and the handover of important materials on the mined territories to the Azerbaijani side.

The Prime Minister spoke with the EU Foreign Ministers about the occupied territories of Georgia and the importance of further involvement of the EU, and discussed with his senior guests the efforts needed for the immediate release of Zaza Gakheladze and Irakli Bebua, Georgian citizens detained illegally.

Find out more

Press release

The information on this site is subject to a Disclaimer and Protection of personal data. © European Union 2021